Angular: Understanding Modules and Services

…and using them to better organize applications!

Michele Stieven

--

Here you are! You are starting to feel comfortable with this framework, and all of the sudden…

Where should I put my services? Am I importing them in the right way? Are my modules well-organized and ready to scale? Is this component in the right place?
How do I even name this folder?

I found that most developers struggle with this questions because they don’t have a clear vision of how Angular Modules work and how important they are for the Dependency Injection mechanism.

In this article we try to lay the foundation for all of your next projects, nothing less! 😃

Feature Modules

In Angular, every module which is not the AppModule is technically a Feature Module, and it has the following caveats:

— It must declare all the components, directives and pipe it needs

We’ll talk about module-scoping soon, but for now it’s important to understand that is not enough to declare a component once in the declarations array of AppModule: in order to use a component in a module, it must be declared in that specific module. The same applies for directives and pipes.

--

--